Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Employees
“Traincrew Representing Traincrew”

Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Employees
Traincrew Representing Traincrew


John Pedersen joined AFULE January 1984, and has been an active union member throughout all his railway career. Starting by attending Local Depot Union Meetings as a committee member before taking on more senior positions such as Secretary of the Maryborough AFULE Sub Branch in 2002. In 2002 in addition to being Sub Branch Secretary John was elected in the Proxy position for the Division Four Councillor. When the 2008 AFULE Election came about John took the opportunity to nominate for the Division Four Councillor.

Like many within the Rail Industry, John comes from a strong Unionised Rail Family, both John's father and and grandfather both worked within the Rail Industry before him. When joining the AFULE in 1984, John was employed by Queensland Rail as an Engine Cleaner. During his first few weeks on the job Queensland Rail rain the first trial of Two Driver Operation run trains, securing employment for Engine Cleaners for years to come.

After 5 years as an Engine Cleaner John sat for and was qualified as Fireman in 1989. Working as a Fireman saw John travel West from his hometown of Maryborough doing stints in the suburbs of Monto and Gayndah.

Mayne ran a Training School in 1991, which John Pedersen was in attendance. The Training School enhanced John's rail career via promotion to Assistant Driver. John continued working from Mayne Depot until taking a transfer with promotion to Qualified Driver at his home town of Maryborough. John settled in comfortably to the Maryborough Depot, establishing himself within AFULE Sub Branch and gaining the support of it's members. In addition to taking on union responsibilities John furthered his traincrew career by stepping up into Tutor Driver position at Maryborough in 1999.

John is a passionate advocate for the rights of AFULE members and their fair treatment by management, backed with a wealth of knowledge specialising in freight traincrew agreements.

John can be contacted on 0407 812 062



 AFULE Division 5  Councillor Anthony Woodward has taken the lead with AFULE Citytrain duties as a result of the most recent AFULE Election which saw him promoted from Proxy Councillor to Councillor

Anthony has been involved with Numerous Committees as a representative of the Union, since becoming a member early 2011. In addition to Anthony's Council responsibilities he is also currently the branch Secretary of Kippa Ring Depot.

Ever since join AFULE Anthony has been an active advocate for the union and continues to be involved in the implementation of rosters and Leave committees. When AFULE held the 2016 election Anthony nominated himself for the Proxy Division 5 position. Anthony saw this as an opportunity to learn from the wealth of knowledge and exprience of the Rail Industry which members of the AFULE Divisional Council have obtained during their individual careers.  

Since starting in the Rail Industry for Queensland Rail in 2007 as a transit Officer, Anthony quickly succeed in making career choices to move into traincrew. Firstly as a guard in 2008, and then June the following year graduating as a qualified Locomotive Driver. Anthony was based in Mayne Depot from 2009 until transferring to Kippa Ring in 2016 when the Moreton Bay line became active.

Division 5 is made up of numerous Sub branches within the Division, covering majority of the South Eastern Queensland Depots. Depots include Beenleigh, Bundaberg, Caboolture, Ferny Grove, Gympie, Ipswich, Kippa Ring, Manly, Mayne, Nambour, Petrie, Redbank, Robina, Shorncliffe, Springfield. Division 5 manages all these depots with the enthusiastic help of Sub Branches within each Depot.
Division 5 proudly represents all AFULE members.

Anthony can be contacted on 0408 562 494


 David Millward was elected in the 2019 AFULE Election to the position of Councillor. This election saw a redistribution of the boundaries to Divisons 6 and 7 merging the South East Queensland Aurizon Coal into the one depot. Divison 6 boundaries depots include; Fisherman Island, Roma and Willowburn. 

David can be contacted on 0407 819 011


From 1 January 2020 the AFULE No. 7 Divisional Councillor is Anthony Chalker. Anthony Chalker has been an active AFULE member since joining in 2010. 

The 2019 AFULE Elections saw a change to the divisional boundaries. Divison 7 consists of the following Queensland Rail depots: Bundaberg, Cairns, Emerald, Mayne Regional, Roma, Toowoomba and Townsville. 

If you would like to contact Anthony, please contact the State Office for his details.